The Macedonian Government established the Free Zones Authority to assist in providing the most cost and operationally efficient place for doing business in Southeastern Europe and wider.

Consequently, it was decided that distributing the free zones across the country would not only increase employment opportunities overall, but would also aid regions where specialized labor had already existed.

The Free Zones Authority currently manages three fully operational zones: Skopje 1 and 2 in the capital, and one in Stip, the largest town in eastern Macedonia. The zone in Tetovo is currently operating as a public private partnership, and is in the process of implementing its first investment projects. Simultaneously, eleven zones intended for equal economic advancement of all regions in Macedonia are in various stages of development.